Contemporary Canadian Literature with a Distinctly Urban Twist

Anvil Press

Congratulations to Elee Kraljii Gardiner, whose poetry collection Trauma Head was longlisted for the 2019 Raymond Souster Poetry Award.

photo of Carleigh Baker

Congratulations to Carleigh Baker on winning the 2017 City of Vancouver Book Award for her debut collection of stories, Bad Endings. Read more about the City of Vancouver Book Award and the other finalists here.

photo of Carleigh Baker

Our most heartfelt congratulations go out to Carleigh Baker on this nomination. The winner will be announced Nov 14 at the Writers’ Trust Awards. Read more about Bad Endings here.

We are thrilled by the recent news that both Cretacea & Other Stories from the Badlands by Martin West and Garage Criticism: Cultural Missives in an Age of Distraction by Peter Babiak are finalists for this year’s Montaigne Medal. The Montaigne Medal is part of the Eric Hoffer Awards and is an additional distinction, awarded to the most thought-provoking books

photo of Melissa Bull
Congratulations to Melissa Bull whose debut poetry collection, Rue has been shortlisted for the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award. Read more about the award and this year’s finalists here.
photo of Caroline Adderson

After months on the BC Bestseller list, Vancouver Vanishes, is now a finalist for the Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award (BC Book Prizes). Congratulations to Caroline Adderson, Tracey Ayton, and all of the others that contributed to this fabulous book.

photo of Jeff Steudel

Jeff’s debut poetry collection, Foreign Park, is a finalist for this year’s Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize (BC Book Prizes) — congrats Jeff!

Grant Buday’s most recent novel, The Delusionist is a finalist for this year’s prestigious Kobzar Literary Award. The Kobzar Award is a $25,000 Biennial Award recognizing outstanding contributions to Canadian literary arts by authors who develop a Ukrainian Canadian theme with literary merit in one of several genres: literary non-fiction, fiction, poetry, young readers’ literature, plays, screenplays and musicals. The Delusionist was also a Finalist for the 2015 City of Victoria Butler Book Prize.

photo of Nathaniel Moore

Congratulations to Nathaniel G. Moore whose novel, Savage 1986-2011 was selected as the winner of the 2014 ReLit Prize (Novel category). His first collection of short fiction, Jettison was released in the fall of 2016.